Do Over

Okay, I’m just gonna come out and say it, any artist who works in pen and ink is insane…okay, maybe not insane but definitely a different breed. Pen and ink is an unforgiving medium. Once you lay down that first stroke, that’s it. There’s no erasing. You can try adding more ink to blend the stroke in but if it doesn’t look right you have to face the inevitable…starting over. It happens. It’s an unfortunate part that comes with the territory of being a pen and ink artist and we all encounter it at some point. The longer you work in the medium you learn ways and techniques to cover up mishaps but sometimes there’s no saving a drawing and I’m quickly learning I may be more prone to these mishaps working in color compared to just black ink. There’s just no covering up when two colors don’t work together. So I had to start over from scratch with my first drawing. Thank goodness for lightboxes which allowed for an easy transfer otherwise this series might have went from three pieces to two. I think this time I got the color worked out better. I guess sometimes it is better the second time around. 

Leave a Reply

