Portable Studio

Drawing pens and Strathmore 2.5×3.5 artist cards.

Sometimes I get messages from admirers enthusiastically asking what do I use to create my drawings? Well, here it is, my amazing arsenal of weapons of mass creation. Yep, that’s it. I have a drawing table with a few jars of backup pens but this is essentially all I use. Unlike other artists who may have a studio full of paints and canvases or a spare room with two desks covered in art supplies and a computer, my materials are pretty limited and compact. I know, it’s rather underwhelming but one of the things I enjoy about creating small works of art is the mobility. I can easily move my stuff from one room to another and work on my art without having to worry about space or finding available electrical sockets. Or if I go out of town I can just zip up my supplies in my pen case, toss it in my backpack and be on my way. It’s portable and convenient for me. Now I’ve read many advice articles suggesting that artists should have a dedicated space for creating art and I understand the logic behind that but doing so doesn’t really work for me. I like being able to curl up on the couch with my headphones and getting all intimate with my work. Or sip on some herbal tea as I finish up a current piece while sitting at the kitchen table with the morning sun peeking through the blinds and warming my face. Forcing myself to always work at my drawing table isn’t all that comfortable no matter how luxurious of a chair I get to sit in. 

So here it is. If you’ve been wondering to yourself what material and supplies I use, here you go, marvel at the grandeur. I’m afraid that if anyone were to ever ask for an interview with a tour of my studio, they would be sadly disappointed when I pull out my pen case and say “Oh here. This is my studio. Feel free to look around.” 😋

Have a pleasant day. 😊

One thought on “Portable Studio

Leave a Reply

