Slow But Steady

Still in progress.

It’s two weeks into the new year and I have to admit, I’m still having some difficulty getting back into the swing of things since the holidays. Half of me is still on holiday and the other half of me is still decompressing from 2016. I’ve been pretty much trying to regroup and get back on track with myself. While last year I was all about following new ideas and trying out new things, I think this year I’ll try to focus a bit more on settling into what truly resonates with me artistically and spiritually in order to hone a more authentic way of being that reflects who I am. Already I’m rediscovering things I once loved doing but had long forgotten about. I’m also giving myself permission to stop trying to live up to this conditioned idea of what I’ve been made to think my life is suppose to be and who I think I should be both as a person and as an artist and instead just do the things I enjoy, the things that bring me peace and well being. 

As you can see, I’m still working on “Gumballs”, I’m moving a bit slow but I’m steadily progressing. That’s kinda the story of my life but I’ve never been the kind of person who ever got anywhere fast, yet somehow I’ve always managed to get there on time. Sometimes you just need to slow down and take your time with things. It’s easy to get wrapped up in the anxious feelings that comes with being an online content creator in an environment that constantly breeds an atmosphere of pressure to post frequently or fear losing your audience. But as an artist, I’m well aware that things can’t always be rushed especially art. So, I’m taking my time with “Gumballs”. But I’m sure I’ll be finished with it soon. My artistic inspiration for a piece actually has a time limit. As someone who is a bit OCD about leaving things unfinished, I have to finish a piece of art before my interest in it wears out otherwise I have to throw it away or at least hide it from myself. Oddly enough it’s these little idiosyncrasies that actually keep me going in my work. I hate having to throw away a piece so it forces me to focus and finish…and the clock is ticking on “Gumballs”. So I’m sure within a week I’ll be finished and working on something new. 
P.S. Has anyone seen “The Accountant”? If you have, I just want to say, no, I’m not as bad as Christian Wolff when it comes to things being left undone. 😊

Leave a Reply

