The Perfect Fit

Dahlia (wip)

I’ve been feeling a bit constrained by the size of the artist cards I’ve been doing. So lately I’ve been mulling over doing larger pieces. In the past I’ve done 9×12, 8×10 and 8×6, all of which are small pieces in the art world but when you’re doing pointillism with .20mm nibs, it can feel like your trying to draw a picture as large as your living room. It’s tedious and slow work. I don’t want to take forever just to finish one piece and for some time artist cards have worked tremendously well…until now. I want a little more room. So last night I dusted off my trusty cutting board and got to slicing up some drawing paper to find the perfect size. I’ve already determined that anything over 8×6 is a bit exasperating for my patience. 2.5×3.5 is the smallest I can go. I tried a 5×7 but that still seemed a bit too much. Then I tried a 4×6 and that fit just perfectly. So here’s my latest drawing that I’m working on called “Dahlia” on 4×6 Bristol board. 

2 thoughts on “The Perfect Fit

  1. 4″ x 6″ is standard postcard size, here, and I have always loved it for art. Sounds a very good choice for your pointillism. Another idea that you might like to try is use your aceo size cards and move from one to another so each image actually goes into its neighbouring card… that way you can feel free with the small size you’re used to but not be limited to it. (The result can then either be joined up as one whole – or various ‘wholes’ or you can frame each aceo and display them as a set.) I’ve been doing this with abstracts recently and it’s very interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

