Bit Of A Break

I’ve been on a bit of a break. It wasn’t a conscious one, just something that kinda happened. I’m guessing with all the researching on doing prints, test runs, revamping my branding material and finishing up my last drawing, my spirit just said “Chill for a minute.” 

I haven’t been doing anything major, just a few doodles and sketches here and there. In the meantime I’ve got four drawing ideas lined up along with gathered reference material. It amazes me how when I think I can’t possibly come up with anything more something new comes to mind. It reminds me that creativity and the imagination is inexhaustible. But I also keep a log of my ideas just in case something doesn’t come up and one of those four drawing ideas was pulled from that log. 

Outside of that I’ve put aside some time to read, for pleasure, rather than for knowledge and information. I snagged a copy of The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho from my library’s bookstore. I’m slowly making my way through it. I haven’t read a book simply for pleasure in over 20 years. My years of college has me so conditioned to reading to gain information and knowledge that I almost feel guilty about setting aside some time to read for no other purpose than enjoyment. Then again, I kind of feel that way about doing anything that doesn’t have an end goal. I wonder if that’s a cultural thing? I always feel that if I’m not sleeping, my every waking moment should be geared towards serving some meaningful purpose. 

Anyhoo, I’ve also been fiddling around with our container garden. My hubby loves tomatoes so that’s mostly what we’re growing. But we have a few other things like herbs, cucumbers, lettuce, celery and more (see pictures below). I’m most excited about the sweet potatoes and ginger. This is our first time growing them so I’ve got my fingers crossed that everything turns out well. It’s nice being able to just go to your backyard when you want a fresh salad. 😊

4 thoughts on “Bit Of A Break

  1. Great book choice. And I tried to garden vegetables before and then the person who cut the grass on our side yard of my old place chopped all my dreams away. lol I am going to try to do it again when I have my own place. It sounds like you got some awesome food coming up soon! I hope you share the progress with us,

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s always good to take a break, particularly if it happens spontaneously. I’ve found myself drawn away (pun unintended) quite a lot recently, just to crochet or read. By the way, The Alchemist is one of my favourite books, so much so that I re-read it every few years. Your veggies look like they will be delicious. There’s a thyme that you might like to look out for (if you can get it there), called Lemon Thyme. It’s a lovely sweet zingy lemon scent – and you can make really nice herbal tea from it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

