Color Or No Color?

So I’ve been debating with myself on adding color to the background of my prints or leave them as is? I’ve done this before with my “Quiet Agony” drawing, where I did a hand drawn pointillism piece, scanned it into Photoshop and then added a color to the white space in the background. So I’m testing this out on my current piece “Unfold”. My conundrum is that I kinda like them both and I kinda don’t like them. I think the stark white of the fine art paper I print on is a bit bothersome to me. My originals are drawn out on natural white drawing paper that doesn’t over power the ink, giving the original a softness that I find appealing. I could use a natural white fine art paper to do my prints on but unfortunately, the ink would come out a bit muted and then factor in the archival spray I add to my prints, that will lead to further muting making the print look dull. So I use a bright white yet it’s just irking me. So I’ve added in some color in the white space with PS. I don’t want to mess around with the drawing too much digitally. I want to keep the work close the original but I’m just a bit conflicted on keeping the background plain or adding some color. As a plus for using color, I like the idea of using it as a way to differentiate my prints from my drawings. What do you think? Colored backgrounds or no colored backgrounds?

5 thoughts on “Color Or No Color?

Leave a Reply

